The Day the Falls Stood Still by Cathy Marie Buchanan

51-GmB+jGVLReally lovely – well written, and the story pulled me along the whole time.  Buchanan’s descriptions of the river are fantastic.  Although I’ve never been to Niagara Falls, the danger and power that underlie its beauty were easy to imagine.

I do wish I got to know Tom better – throughout the novel, he almost seemed more of a legend than a man.  Part of this probably comes from the chapters he is absent, away at war.  When he returns, he has more depth to him, clearly changed and disturbed by what he saw.  After that subsided, and he became himself again, I realized I wasn’t really sure what that meant.  I really liked him as a character, I only wish I knew more about him – how he was in everyday life, not just in his daring during (and his modesty after) a rescue that we saw so often.

Bess is a strong character.  We see her go from living the life of luxury to having to work to support herself, and the bumps she hits along the way.  Even years later, she wants that house on May Avenue, even if it’s more than they need.  She seemed very real to me.

I really enjoyed this novel.  A beautifully written account of a family’s life in Niagara Falls, and how the river becomes irreversibly intertwined with their lives.

*Review of ARC

2 Responses

  1. Lovely to find this here. Thank you for posting, and I hope you get to go to Niagara Falls someday.

    Best,
    Cathy

  2. I put myself on a book buying moratorium but I think I’m going to have to sneak this one in!

Leave a Reply

