Reading Resolutions

Well, 2010 is here. And with a new year comes new resolutions.  So here are my reading-related resolutions for 2010:

1) Read more non-fiction. I realized that my focus in 2009 had really only been on fiction, between the blogs I follow and the genres I enjoy. But there is a lot of great non-fic out there too, and I’d love to get back into the habit of reading it again.

2) Not be afraid to be a little bit of a book snob. I really enjoyed the post over at Hey Lady! Whatcha Readin’? on “reading deliberately.”  I have to say, a lot of what she says reminded me of my own reading habits this year, especially being distracted by books that had a lot of hype and wound up being not so great.  I just felt like I wanted to read everything I saw, and the good stuff that I’ve been wanting to read for a while got overshadowed and pushed to the back burner.  That’s the stuff I want to focus on reading this year.

3) Write more reviews. Now that I’m done my MLIS (woohoo!), I’ll have much more free time to not only read, but to also write about what I’ve read.  The ex-English major in me (who was – ok, is – a nerd and actually enjoyed writing papers) loves writing, and writing reviews is a fun way to get that out of my system, so I’m really excited to have more time for this.  Which translates into…

4) Focus more on the blog! Like all of my resolutions, having more free time (again, woohoo!) makes this a possibility.  I started this blog just as a place to keep all of my reviews.  Over the last year or so I’ve started following a lot more blogs, and become more and more interested in the blogging community and improving my blog.  So, I’m working on a new name and hopefully a facelift in the near future, and with the help of my other resolutions, more frequent posts!  Also, thanks to anyone and everyone who has read and commented on my blog in the past – seeing that all this posting hasn’t been just for my own amusement has been encouraging! 🙂

3 Responses

  1. Teehee! Let’s be book snobs together! Weeee!!

  2. Love these resolutions! And read whatever it is you LOVE….we’d love to read your reviews!

Leave a Reply

