My First Meme – Library Loot!

Apparently, this is the week for firsts!  I came across Library Loot last week, and made a mental note to join in this week.  So here it is!  A small haul for me – but I knew I’d be busy, so I held back this week 🙂

Library Loot is hosted by Marg at Reading Adventures, and Eva at A Striped Armchair.


Shades of Grey by Jasper Fforde

I adore Fforde’s Thursday Next series, and I’ve heard great things about this book – so naturally, I’m excited to start it!

The Elements: A Visual Exploration of Every Known Atom in the Universe by Theodore Gray

I heard a lot about this book around Christmas, with plenty of people saying what a great gift book this is.  I’ve only flipped through it briefly, but I can tell they were right – the images are gorgeous, and some of them are just down-right awesome.  Looking forward to taking a closer look!

Other than some professional reading, that’s it for my library loot.  Also on my coffee table, though:

The Eye of the World by Robert Jordan

I’ve actually been working my through this one for about a month – it’s not that I’m not enjoying it, because I absolutely am.  It’s just taking me some time to get through, and I’ve been reading it bit by bit in between other books.  The goal this week is to finish it – not too much left!

7 Responses

  1. The Elements looks like a fascinating book. I’ll have to see if my library has a copy. My post is here.

  2. First of all, welcome to Library Loot!

    Second of all, woo-hoo! Jasper Fforde! I love his books, and I am very excited at the prospect of a new book! Enjoy your loot!

  3. Welcome to Library Loot!
    The Elements book looks wonderful. I think I would learn a lot from that book as I’m such a visual learner and would appreciate the photos and real world connections that I imagine this book uses. Too bad I passed Chemistry a few decades ago. 😉

    Enjoy your books!

    • Thanks! If you can get your hands on it, go for it – a lot of really interesting info and awesome pictures!

  4. My mom is a huge fan of Jasper Fforde and is always telling me I need to read his books. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

